Rudai 23 – Thing 20 Presentations

AR Training

I have chosen to write about a presentation I did a few months or so ago as part of our CPD sessions at work. As I have mentioned before, I am the lead member of staff for Accelerated Reader and I decided I needed to cascade some information down to other colleagues.

 I decided to keep the presentation really simple as I wanted to talk around the subject. Much of the way the programme works is report based so I wanted to be able to keep chopping and changing between the presentation and the reports. Another aspect of the programme is the use of apps for the students to be able to access the tests and quizzes, and I thought that was something that was better to demo actually through the app via AirPlay on the TV screens than including screenshots as I would be able to do this in real time. Making the actual presentation itself took around 5 minutes but I did have to think carefully about what information I wanted to give and in what order.

I ran the same presentation three times and each time it went a little differently than before. I actually found if any of my friends were in the audience then that made me feel more nervous compared to a group I didn’t know as well. One of my close friends was in the last group and he actually fell asleep! Doesn’t inspire a lot of confidence really! I didn’t particularly feel that nervous though because I knew what I was talking about. I think that would be my main piece of advice for anyone who is looking to do a staff presentation – know your stuff. If you are standing in front of a group of people and you don’t know what you are talking about it really does show. I know sometimes, though, this can be hard because we can find ourselves in a situation where we are pretty much forced to explain something we barely even understand ourselves.

I think if I was to do this presentation again, which is likely, I would probably totally ditch the Keynote/PowerPoint element of it entirely. It’s a bit old hat and I find I explain things better using just a few little bits. It is also a bonus here that we have such good connectivity for Apple products that I do not need to screenshot everything, I can just show it. Modern technology, eh?!

One thought on “Rudai 23 – Thing 20 Presentations

  1. Yes, I agree, being prepared is the key to any presentation. You cannot do well unless you know your stuff inside out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

