Rudai 23 – Thing 15 Advocacy for Libraries

Still behind…still. Going to come back to Thing 14 as my iPad is totally flat and I have a feeling I might need it!

So, advocacy for libraries. The only real advocacy type things I do are 1) Ranting on Twitter 2) Retweeting rants on Twitter 3) Ranting to anyone who will listen (not many). Probably doesn’t really count then for me being a fabulous masthead for the profession.

I am passionate, however, about the protection of the public library services here in the UK. Having worked in the public library sector previously it is something very close to my heart, and I feel that many of the decisions  which have been made around closing branches, reducing services, taking on volunteers etc. are incredibly short sighted. Do I think advocacy groups are that effective? Well, yes, in a way I do but I really think it depends on a number of factors, such as how dedicated the members are, how influential with decision makers the groups can be, the issue being discussed… As for national advocacy campaigns which happen once a year, well, I think these have value but it’s important if you encourage people to make the effort to visit your service on that given day that you also offer them an all singing- all dancing experience the rest of the year as well, because otherwise they might not keep coming back!

 

 

One thought on “Rudai 23 – Thing 15 Advocacy for Libraries

  1. You’re also involved in advocacy by being a member of Cilip. It’s important to keep these organisations going, especially through membership and activitites. You’re an advocate in many ways.
    Stephanie

    Like

Leave a Reply

